April 13th, 2019-The 9th annual Okanagan Falls Spring Releases

The 9th annual Okanagan Falls Spring Releases  in Vancouver

(a dozen  winery interviews and lots of new releases)


 For 9 years the wineries of Okanagan Falls have gathered up their new Spring releases and headed for the West Coast.

This year we find them at The Terminal City Club on Hastings. A grand heritage building. Funds raised go to BC Hospitality Foundation.

The whole Group

From the northern tip of Skaha Lake to the hills above Vaseux Lake the Okanagan Falls wine region in the South Okanagan was blessed with the land that the  ice age left behind.

When  the huge glacier came through and formed the valley, it managed to created  pools and hollows. Each one today has become its own growing terroir. A combination of silt and rock. Each vineyard can have a completely different expression of wine.

Best of all, the days are hot and bright and the nights are cool. Possibly the best growing combination that nature can provide.

In 2018, the B.C. Wine Authority gave Okanagan Falls their own sub-region designation.

Oliver’s Golden Mile was the first local region to get appellation status.

Similkameen,  Kelowna, Lake Country, Peachland, Summerland, Naramata, Penticton, Oliver and Osoyoos — are expected to be recognized within the next few years.  The process is, in a word,  glacial!

Our guests this week:

Leslie D’Andrea – Vice Chair of OFWA   (OFWA.ca)

Blasted Church – John Bayley Vineyard Manager (blastedchurch.com)

Crescent Hill – Tysha  Pope – Family member (crescenthillwinery.com)

Liquidity –  Ruth Hanbury President (Liquiditywines.com)

Wild Goose – Leslie Matheson  marketing manager (winegoosewinery.com)

Pentage – Julie Rennie  co-owner  (Pentage.com)

Bonamicci – Mario Rodi  owner/partner (bonamiccicellars.com)

Noble Ridge – Jim D’Andrea Owner/Chair  (nobleridge.com)

Stag’s Hollow – Linda Pruegger  Owner (stagshollowwinery.com)

BC Hospitality Foundation – Dana Lee Harris Exec Director


Synchromesh – Alan Dickinson   Founder (synchromeshwines.ca)

Meyer Family – Chris Carson  winemaker/viticulturist (MFVwines.com)

Nighthawk – Christy Bibby  co-owner  (nighthawkvineyards.com)





Ben Bryant – Chief Winemaker at Mission Hill

Sal Howell – Deane House

Galasa Aden – CDC  Deane House

Colin Linden – Wine Choices in Nashville